Foo Fighters cover Kim Wilde’s ‘Kids In America’ on Record Store Day release

Unreleased track 'Empty Handed' will also feature on the four track release

Foo Fighters will cover Kim Wilde‘s 1981 single ‘Kids In America’ on their Record Store Day release.

The four-track, 10-inch release, ‘Songs From The Laundry Room’, will also feature early versions of ‘Alone + Easy Target’ and ‘Big Me’ as well as an unreleased track, ‘Empty Handed’, from the Glastonbury 2015 headliners. It was recorded at Barrett Jones’ Laundry Room Studios in Seattle.

Dave Grohl has been crowned the official ambassador of Record Store Day 2015. The Foo Fighters frontman will lead the festivities on the day, which takes place on April 18 and celebrates the culture of independent record shops.


Mumford & Sons will also release new material in the shape of ‘Believe/’The Wolf’ on 7-inch; two unreleased tracks from their hotly anticipated new record ‘Wilder Mind’. As previously revealed, Johnny Marr releases a Depeche Mode cover backed with a live Smiths track for Record Store Day 2015.

The single will consist of Marr’s own version of electronic rock band’s 1993 single ‘I Feel You’ and a live version of The Smiths‘ 1984 B-side ‘Please, Please, Please, Let Me Get What I Want’.

Meanwhile, continuing the 40th anniversary of his 7-inch picture disc series, David Bowie returns with the exclusive release of ‘Changes’ and ‘1966’. ‘Changes’, taken from Bowie’s 1971 album ‘Hunky Dory’, will be released on white/clear vinyl alongside ‘Kingdom Come’, a track that originally appeared on 1980 album ‘Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)’.

The first ever ‘Now That’s What I Call Music!’ compilation, ‘Now 1’, will also be released on vinyl while U2 and The White Stripes will release their albums ‘Songs Of Innocence’ and ‘Get Behind Me Satan’ respectively.

Other artists releasing material for Record Store Day 2015 include Temples, who are putting out a split 7-inch with Fever The Ghost, Courtney Barnett, Biffy Clyro, Chvrches, The Black Keys, The Prodigy and Django Django.

Run The Jewels return with new music in the shape of the ‘Bust No Moves’ EP while two unnamed Florence + The Machine songs will be available on blue vinyl.


Britpop heroes Noel Gallagher, Suede and Pulp are also getting involved in Record Store Day this year. A collection of remixes of Gallagher’s High Flying Birds song ‘In The Heat Of The Moment’ will be available on 12″ while Pulp reissue ‘Freaks’, ‘Separations’, ‘Little Girl (With Blue Eyes)’, ‘It’, ‘They Suffocate At Night’ and ‘Dogs are Everywhere’. Suede, meanwhile, will release a live version of ‘Dog Man Star’ recorded at London’s Royal Albert Hall.

For more information and a full list of this year’s Record Store Day release schedule, visit