iForward, Russia! showcase new songs at Shockwaves NME Awards show

Plus newcomers Kubichek! perform tracks from their debut album

¡Forward, Russia! debuted a host of new songs at an intimate London show tonight (Febraury 28) as the Shockwaves NME Awards season continued.

The band tore through a fifty minute set at KOKO which showcased new tracks ‘Breaking Standing’ and ‘We Are Grey Matter’.

Arriving onstage in their trademark white ¡Forward, Russia! t-shirts, the Leeds outfit kicked off their set with ‘Fifteen Part 1’ before going on to perform the likes of ‘Twelve’, ‘Eighteen’, recent one-off single ‘Don’t Be A Doctor’ and ‘Sixteen’.


The band were on jovial form as guitarist Whiskas joked midway through the set: “We were really chuffed on Sunday because our debut album passed the 50 million mark. Nah we reached the 99 mark. Seriously though thanks to everyone in this room who has gone out and bought our album.”

Earlier hotly tipped Newcastle newcomers Kubichek! played a blistering 30 minute set that included forthcoming single ‘Nightjoy’ and debut album track ‘Hope Is Impossible’, which the four-piece dedicated to ¡Forward, Russia!.

Further support came from Cursive and Some Tree.

¡Forward, Russia! played:

‘Fifteen Part 1’



‘Breaking Standing’


‘Don’t Be A Doctor’

‘We Are Grey Matter’



‘Fifteen Part 2’



The Shockwaves NME Awards 2007 take place tomorrow at Hammersmith Palais before the final closing shows on Friday (March 2) with performances from Jamie T and Kaiser Chiefs.

Check back tomorrow for the all the latest news and backstage gossip from the Shockwaves NME Awards 2007.