The Frames announce new album details

US tour to follow

The Frames have announced details of a forthcoming album and subsequent US tour.

‘The Cost’ – the sixth studio album from the Irish band – will be released on February 20 in the US.

The album was recorded in France’s Black Box studios with longtime producer David Odlum.


‘The Cost’ track listing is:

‘Song for Someone’

‘Falling Slowly’

‘People Get Ready’


‘When Your Mind’s Made Up’


‘Sad Songs’

‘The Cost’


‘The Side You Never Get to See’

‘Bad Bone’

This spring, The Frames will tour North America in support of the album. They’ll kick things off in San Diego on April 6, and hit several cities in the US and Canada before wrapping up at the Coachella Festival in Indio, California on April 28.

The tour dates are:

San Diego Belly Up Tavern (April 6)

San Francisco Fillmore (7)

Portland Aladdin Theater (9)

Seattle The Showbox (11)

Vancouver Plaza Club (12)

Boise Idaho Egyptian (13)

Boulder Colorado Theatre (15)

Minneapolis Cedar Cultural Center (17)

Chicago Metro (18)

Toronto Phoenix (20)

Montreal Le National (21)

Boston Somerville Theatre (22)

New York Town Hall (24)

Philadelphia TLA (25)

Washington DC 9:30 Club (26)

Indio California Coachella Festival (28)

In other news, ‘Once’, a film starring The Frames frontman Glen Hansard, recently won the Sundance Film Festival‘s World Cinema Audience Award. The Irish film depicts a relationship between a street musician (played by Hansard) and a Czech pianist. It features two tracks from ‘The Cost’.

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.