Frank Ocean fans react and give verdict on new visual album ‘Endless’

Record has premiered via Apple Music

Frank Ocean fans have been reacting to the news that the R&B performer has finally released a new album.

Fans had been awaiting a release from the singer for some time. A record thought to be called ‘Boys Don’t Cry’ was initially due to be released in July 2015 and then July of this year. The last due date to be touted was August 5, but again the record failed to materialise.

This new visual album, entitled ‘Endless’, was premiered via an Apple Music livestream and is a separate record to the one formerly tagged as ‘Boys Don’t Cry’. That latter album is expected to drop later this weekend with a different name.


Getting to hear ‘Endless’ at last, fans have been understandably ecstatic. See some of the best responses below.


Fans have also been giving their verdict on the record as a whole, with it being described as “beautiful”, “brooding, soulful, liberating”.

However, one NME reader wrote that there’s “almost too much music to drop all at once” and that “no one song feels precious among the tracks yet”.

In a poll conducted by NME, 41% of fans voted that the album was worth the wait while 59% said it wasn’t.

Watch and listen to ‘Endless’ here. You can also read NME‘s track-by-track review.

See the ‘Endless’ tracklisting beneath:

1 Device Control (written by Wolfgang Tillmans)
2 At Your Best (You Are Love) (The Isley Brothers Cover)
3 Alabama
4 Mine
5 U-N-I-T-Y
6 Ambience 001: “In a Certain Way”
7 Commes Des Garcons
8 Ambience 002: “Honeybaby”
9 Wither
10 Hublots
11 In Here Somewhere
12 Slide on Me
13 Sideways
14 Florida
15 Deathwish (ASR)
16 Rushes
17 Rushes To
18 Higgs