Frank Turner, Brian Fallon, NOFX feature on No Use For A Name frontman tribute album

'The Songs Of Tony Sly: A Tribute' will be released next month on Fat Wreck Chords

Frank Turner, The Gaslight Anthem‘s Brian Fallon and NOFX are just some of the artists to feature on ‘The Songs Of Tony Sly: A Tribute’.

The 26-track compilation is being released in honour of the late frontman of punk band No Use For A Name and sees a host of fellow punk and rock artists covering his work. Tony Sly passed away on July 31, 2012, at the age of 41. Profits from the sale of the album will go to the Tony Sly Memorial Fund, which has been founded to help Sly’s wife, Brigitte, and their two daughters. For more information on the fund, visit:

The tribute album also features contributions from Rise Against, Bad Religion, The Bouncing Souls, Pennywise, Alkaline Trio and Anti-Flag. It will be released on October 29 on the Fat Wreck Chords label.


In a statement about the album, NOFX and Fat Wreck Chords’ Fat Mike wrote: “What I wanted to show on this record is how amazing Tony’s songs are. You can tell a song is great when it can be done in any style and it’s still great. That’s what this comp is about. All the bands are doing No Use For A Name songs or Tony Sly songs with their own take. It’s a real tribute to his songwriting… These bands were his closest friends and his favourite bands. I thank all of them for stepping up and showing their love and respect to Tony and his family.”

‘The Songs of Tony Sly: A Tribute’ tracklisting is:

Karina Denike – “Biggest Lie”
Mad Caddies – “AM”
Strung Out – “Soulmate”
Rise Against – “For Fiona”
Bad Religion – “Let It Slide”
NOFX – “The Shortest Pier”
Snuff – “On The Outside”
The Bouncing Souls – “Homecoming”
Old Man Markley – “Feel Good Song of the Year”
Lagwagon – “Discomfort Inn”
Teenage Bottlerocket – “Via Munich”
Frank Turner – “Keira”
Get Dead – “Premedicated Murder”
Pennywise – “Devonshire and Crown”
Alkaline Trio – “Straight from the Jacket”
Brian Fallon of The Gaslight Anthem – “Capo 4th Fret”
Yellowcard – “Already Won”
Swingin’ Utters – “Not Your Savoir”
The Flatliners – “Fireball”
Simple Plan – “Justified Black Eye”
Useless ID – “Frances Stewart”
Jon Snodgrass & the Dead Peasants – “On The Outside”
American Steel – “Dark Corner”
Frenzal Rhomb – “Flying South”
Anti-Flag – “Toaster in the Bathtub”
Joey Cape with Scorpios – “International You Day”