Two unreleased Frank Zappa albums on the way soon

‘Frank Zappa For President’ ties in with US Election

Two albums of previously-unreleased Frank Zappa music are to come out on July 15.

‘Frank Zappa For President’ and ‘The Crux Of The Biscuit’ are the latest in a total of 40 posthumous albums released since Zappa’s death in 1993.

‘Frank Zappa For President’ consists of music mainly composed on the Synclavier. Zappa turned to the instrument on learning in 1990 that he had terminal prostate cancer. He mainly wrote modern classical music for the rest of his life.


A statement said: “We know that Frank wanted to run for office at various times. In the spirit of the dramatic 2016 presidential election adventures comes a release that gives us a glimpse into what could have been.”

‘The Crux Of The Biscuit’ was initially intended for release in 2014 to coincide with the 40th anniversary of his album ‘Apostrophe(‘)’. It comprises of music recorded during the same sessions.

Following the many posthumous Zappa albums, a new deal was struck between his estate and Universal Music in 2015 to take a fresh look at how best to compile his unreleased music.

During his lifetime, the prolific musician released 62 albums from his 1966 debut ‘Freak Out!’ until 1993’s ‘The Yellow Shark’. His most famous albums include ‘Weasels Ripped My Flesh’, ‘Sheikh Yerbouti’ and ‘200 Motels’.