The announcement is made at a ceremony in London...


A panel of judges drawn from the music industry have chosen their 12 ‘albums of the year’, with the overall winner announced this evening (September 7) at a ceremony in central London.

Throughout the week Franz Ferdinand’s self-titled debut had been secured as the bookmakers favourite to win the prize, with The Streets’ ’A Grand Don’t Come For Free’ also tipped.

Following a rush of last minute betting, The Zutons’ ‘Who Killed…The Zutons’ was also fancied by music fans and bookmakers alike.

However, it was Franz’s album which won out, taking the £20,000 prize.

On picking up the award the band looked shocked, and said they hadn’t prepared for actually winning. Singer Alex Kapranos said the band were “very chuffed and very honoured” to receive the prize.

This year’s shortlist also featured albums from the likes of Belle And Sebastian, Keane and [a][/a].

The shortlist was:

Basement Jaxx – ‘Kish Kash’

Belle & Sebastian – ‘Dear Catastrophe Waitress’

Franz Ferdinand – ‘Franz Ferdinand’

Jamelia – ‘Thank You’

Keane – ‘Hopes And Fears’

Snow Patrol – ‘Final Straw’

Joss Stone – ‘The Soul Sessions’

The Streets – ‘A Grand Don’t Come For Free’

Ty – ‘Upwards’

Amy Winehouse – ‘Frank’

Robert Wyatt – ‘Cuckooland’

The Zutons – ‘Who Killed…The Zutons’

Previous winners have had varying degrees of success after winning the Mercury Music Prize. The award helped recent winners like Ms Dynamite reach mainstream appeal, but earlier winners such as Talvin Singh and Roni Size didn’t quite manage to cross over in the same way.

The previous winners are:1992 – Primal Scream ‘Screamadelica’

1993 – Suede: ‘Suede’

1994 – M People: ‘Elegant Slumming’

1995 – Portishead: ‘Dummy’

1996 – Pulp: ‘Different Class’

1997 – Roni Size: ‘New Forms’

1998 – Gomez: ‘Bring It On’

1999 – Talvin Singh: ‘OK’

2000 – Badly Drawn Boy: ‘The Hour Of Bewilderbeast’

2001 – PJ Harvey: ‘Stories From The City, Stories From The Sea’

2002 – Ms Dynamite: ‘A Little Deeper’

2003 – Dizzee Rascal – ‘Boy In Da Corner’

What do you think of the winner? How does it compare to previous years? Send all your comments to