Exclusive – Coachella line-up unveiled

There's a strong British presence

Franz Ferdinand, Bloc Party, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Editors and Hard-Fi are among the bands set to join headliners Depeche Mode and Tool at California’s Coachella festival on April 29 and 30, NME.COM can reveal.

The strong presence of British talent is further represented on the bill with appearances now confirmed by The Duke Spirit, Lady Sovereign, The Subways, White Rose Movement, Ladytron, Nine Black Alps, The Go! Team, Art Brut, The Like, The Magic Numbers and first time Coachella players The Zutons.

“I’ve heard it’s dead cool and that it’s in the desert,” Zutons frontman Dave McCabe told NME.COM about saying yes to the event. “I’m looking forward to it a lot and I know we’ll have a good time. We’re going to be all deserted up and smooth as the sand.”

Scissor Sisters lead the pack of top American talent confirmed alongside TV On The Radio, Be Your Own Pet and Giant Drag, whose frontwoman Annie Hardy has only been a Coachella punter until now.

“We are super excited to play Coachella this year,” she said. “I love that there are so many different bands that you can see in one place. There’s nothing like it over here.”

Although the line-up is almost complete, promoter Paul Tollett told NME.COM more big bands will be announced in the coming weeks.

Tickets for the event went on sale through Ticketmaster earlier this month priced at $85 (about £45) for a day ticket and $165 (£100) for a weekend pass.

The current line-up is:

Day 1:

Depeche Mode

Franz Ferdinand

Sigur Ros


Damien Marley


Carl Cox

My Morning Jacket


Clap Your Hands Say Yeah!


Cat Power

Animal Collective


Devendra Banhart

She Wants Revenge

The Walkmen

The Juan Maclean

Audio Bullys

Lady Sovereign


The Duke Spirit



Lyrics Born

The Zutons

White Rose Movement


Wolf Mother

The Living Things

Nine Black Alps

Youth Group

Day 2:


Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Bloc Party

Paul Oakenfold

Scissor Sisters

Matias Yahu

James Blunt


TV On The Radio

Sleater Kinney

Gnarls Barkley (Danger Mouse and Cee-Lo)


Digable Planets

Amadou Mariam

Little Louie Vega


Seu Jorge


Wolf Parade

The Go! Team


Imogene Heap

Art Brut


The Dears

Jamie Liddell

The Magic Numbers

Los Amigos Invisibles


Michael Mayer

Mates of State

Gilles Peterson

Gabriel & Dresden

The Subways

Minus the Bear

Be Your Own Pet

Giant Drag