Franz Ferdinand unveil new tracks ‘Love Illumination’ and ‘Right Action’ – listen

Both songs are taken from the band's forthcoming new album 'Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action'

Franz Ferdinand unveiled two brand new songs today (June 27) – you can listen to both tracks by scrolling down the page.

The Glasgow group uploaded ‘Love Illumination’ and ‘Right Action’ to their YouTube channel this afternoon. The latter was produced by Hot Chip‘s Joe Goddard and Alexis Taylor. The tracks are now available to buy on a double-A side 7″ via Domino Records.

Both songs appear on the band’s forthcoming new album ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’. The record, which will be the band’s fourth and is set to be released on August 26, will feature guest vocals from Roxanne Clifford of Veronica Falls and Todd Terje and Bjorn Yttling of Peter, Bjorn and John.

Speaking to NME last month about the working with Yttling, frontman Alex Karpanos said: “When we were first writing the LP, I met up with Bjorn in Newcastle. We were talking about recording, and he asked what we wanted to sound like. I said, ‘I want to sound like Franz Ferdinand,’ then he said, ‘Oh, a cross between Dr Feelgood and Daft Punk?’ And I thought, ‘I like this guy – he gets it. We should record with him.'”

Earlier this year, Franz Ferdinand debuted seven new songs at a tiny gig at Glasgow venue Nice ‘N’ Sleazy, opening their set with three new songs: ‘Trees & Animals’, ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ and ‘Fresh Strawberries’.

The tracklisting for ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ album is as follows:

‘Right Action’
‘Evil Eye’
‘Love Illumination’
‘Stand On The Horizon’
‘Fresh Strawberries’
‘Treason! Animals’
‘The Universe Expanded’
‘Brief Encounters’
‘Goodbye Lovers & Friends’

‘Love Illumination’

‘Right Action’