Franz Ferdinand confirm Todd Terje and Peter, Bjorn And John collaborations for new album

'Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action' is set for August release

Todd Terje and Bjorn Yttling of Peter, Bjorn snd John are among the artists Franz Ferdinand have worked with on their new album ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’, it has been confirmed.

The record, which will be the band’s fourth and is set to be released on August 26, will also feature guest vocals from Roxanne Clifford of Veronica Falls. Speaking to NME in this week’s issue, on newsstands now, Alex Kapranos speaks about working with Yttling, stating: When we were first writing the LP, I met up with Bjorn in Newcastle. We were talking about recording, and he asked what we wanted to sound like. I said, ‘I want to sound like Franz Ferdinand,’ then he said, ‘Oh, a cross between Dr Feelgood and Daft Punk?’ And I thought, ‘I like this guy – he gets it. We should record with him.'”

Franz Ferdinand recently debuted seven new songs at a tiny gig at Glasgow venue Nice ‘N’ Sleazy, opening their set with three new songs: ‘Trees & Animals’, ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ and ‘Fresh Strawberries’.


The tracklisting for ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’ album is as follows:

‘Right Action’
‘Evil Eye’
‘Love Illumination’
‘Stand On The Horizon’
‘Fresh Strawberries’
‘Treason! Animals’
‘The Universe Expanded’
‘Brief Encounters’
‘Goodbye Lovers & Friends’

Subscribe to NME here, or get this week’s digital issue


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts