Franz Ferdinand and Sparks tease collaborative album with new song ‘Collaborations Don’t Work’

FFS release their debut album on June 8

Franz Ferdinand and Sparks have shared a new track from their upcoming joint album titled ‘Collaborations Don’t Work’.

The two acts, who are collaborating under the name FFS, will release their debut on June 8 via Domino. Following on from ‘Piss Off’ and ‘Johnny Delusional’, you can hear ‘Collaboations Don’t Work’ beneath.


‘FFS’ was produced by John Congleton (St Vincent, David Byrne, Anna Calvi) and recorded at London’s RAK Studios. Talks between the two bands regarding a collaboration happened around the time Franz Ferdinand released their 2004 single ‘Take Me Out’. However, it wasn’t until 2013 that plans were forged.

See below to watch a video interview in which members of FFS speak to NME.

The album tracklisting is as follows:

‘Johnny Delusional’
‘Call Girl’
‘Dictator’s Son’
‘Little Guy From The Suburbs’
‘Police Encounters’
‘Save Me From Myself’
‘So Desu Ne’
‘The Man Without A Tan’
‘Things I Won’t Get’
‘The Power Couple’
‘Collaborations Don’t Work’
‘Piss Off’

FFS, the album, is available on CD and download and also as 16-track double vinyl + limited edition double colour vinyl special edition & deluxe CD editions featuring four extra tracks.

FFS will play their first ever gig at Glasgow Arts School on June 16 before playing the much larger Troxy in London on June 29. Gigs in Zagreb, Brussels and Paris will fall between the two as well as festival appearances at Benicàssim, Slovakia’s Pohoda and Lollapalooza in Berlin.


Further European dates in July follow, with gigs in Lyon, Amsterdam and Cologne all scheduled.


The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts