Fryars streams new album ‘Power’ ahead of official release – listen

Ben Garrett's second album comes out on November 17

Fryars, aka Ben Garrett, is streaming his long-awaited second album ‘Power’ ahead of its official release on November 17.

Listen to the London-based singer’s new record below. The album, which he has been working on since 2010, was produced by Luke Smith (Clor, Foals) and Rodaidh McDonald (The xx, How To Dress Well, Savages). The singer-songwriter penned two tracks for Lily Allen’s 2014 album ‘Sheezus’ and will support Allen on her upcoming winter UK tour as well as playing his own instore show at London’s Rough Trade East on November 20.


Speaking previously to NME, Garrett explained how issues with his former label 679 and a merger between parent company Warners and Access Industries led to a massive delay in the release of his follow-up to the 2009 debut ‘Dark Young Hearts’. “The problem was the Warners mothership,” sais Garrett. “As soon as Warners got involved, things slowed down. It was like being on two labels, neither of whom were on the same page.”

However, Warners took the unprecedented step of freeing Garrett from his contract and returning the ‘Power’ album to him. “Instead of trying to get something out of their investment, they cancelled my debt and gave my album back to me. I can’t help thinking it was as much out of generosity as madness.”

The ‘Power’ tracklisting is:

‘(Power Up)’
‘On Your Own’
‘In My Arms’
‘Don’t Make It Hard On Yourself’
‘Love So Cold’
‘Prettiest Ones Fly Highest’
‘(Dialogue 1)’
‘China Voyage’
‘Can’t Stop Loving You’
‘The Power’
‘(Dialogue 2)’
‘Thing Of Beauty’
‘(Tide You Over)’
‘Cool Like Me’
’16 (Over And Out)’