Future Islands and Sam Smith appear on TV show ‘Austin City Limits’ – watch

Smith performs a cover of Whitney Houston's 'How Will I Know'

Future Islands and Sam Smith have appeared on long-running US TV show Austin City Limits.

In performances aired last night, and as reported by Pitchfork, Future Islands played six songs taken from last year’s ‘Singles’ LP, including NME’s Top Track of 2014, ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’.

Smith performed three cuts taken from his debut album ‘In The Lonely Hour’, mashing the single ‘Money On My Mind’ with CeCe Peniston’s ‘Finally’. His Disclosure and Nile Rodgers collaboration ‘Together’ and a cover of Whitney Houston’s ‘How Will I Know’ made up the rest of the set. Click below to watch the performances. Future Islands’ set begins at 26:30.


Sam Smith played:

‘How Will I Know’
‘Money On My Mind/Finally’
‘Stay With Me’

Future Islands played:

‘Back in the Tall Grass’
‘A Dream of You and Me’
‘A Song for Our Grandfathers’
‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’

Speaking to NME last month, Future Islands frontman Samuel T. Herring revealed that he was stung by the reaction to his performance of ‘Seasons (Waiting On You)’ on the Late Show With David Letterman, which went viral after it was aired last March.

“It doesn’t matter if it’s a joke as long as it’s not a joke to everybody,” said Herring, who explained that the song puts forth “this idea that we need to live by our own rules to get what we want out of life. And you know what? There’s kind of a ‘fuck you’ in that too.”


The singer also divulged that ‘Seasons’, which the band “wrote in an hour an a half”, is about a tumultuous two-and-a-half year relationship that went awry. “I was trying to get her to change so that she would love me the way I wanted to be loved. And I tried to change too, until I realised that you can’t do that,” he said. “That’s just one of the tragedies of love: it’s not always going to work out, even if there’s something there.”