Garbage announce 20th anniversary reissue of ‘Version 2.0’ and share bonus track ‘Lick The Pavement’

"The quintessential Garbage record"

Garbage have announced a reissue of their classic album ‘Version 2.0’ to celebrate its 20th anniversary – as well as sharing the bonus track ‘Lick The Pavement’. Check it out below.

The album, which hit No.1 and featured the hit singles ‘I Think I’m Paranoid’ and ‘Push It’, will be re-released on June 22 ahead of their UK anniversary tour. As well as containing the original album, the reissue comes with b-sides from the era and is available in a variety of formats across multiple CDs and coloured vinyl with posters and more.

“’Version 2:0′ is in my opinion the quintessential Garbage record,” said singer Shirley Manson, who last month won the NME Icon Award. “We are all very grateful to the millions of people who took it to their hearts at the time it was released and to those who continue to love on it still”.


Co-producer and drummer Butch Vig added: “’Version 2.0′ is the sound of a band growing up, evolving, and more than anything, gaining confidence. When we started recording, we made a conscious decision to not re-invent ourselves, but rather take everything we learned from our debut album and filter it through the new digital technology we were grappling with.

“Sonically, the album has moments of razor sharp clarity and soft beauty. Indeed, it’s possibly our best album”.

The tracklist for the reissue of ‘Version 2.0’ is:


1. Temptation Waits
2. I Think I’m Paranoid
3. When I Grow Up
4. Medication 
5. Special 
6. Hammering in My Head
7. Push It 
8. The Trick Is to Keep Breathing 
9. Dumb 
10. Sleep Together
11. Wicked Ways
12. You Look So Fine

B-sides (deluxe formats only):


1. Can’t Seem To Make You Mine 
2. 13x Forever
3. Deadwood
4. Get Busy With The Fizzy 
5. Soldier Through This
6. Thirteen 
7. Lick The Pavement
8. Medication (Acoustic)
9. Tornado 
10. Afterglow 

Meanwhile, the band have recently started work on their new album.

“The thing that I keep saying to the band is that it’s high stakes now,” Manson told NME about their plans for the future. “It’s not like how we once did it when we were just starting out. It’s like, how much longer are we even going to be alive for? I didn’t think about that in my ‘20s. Who are you as a person – what was it that you witnessed during your time on earth? And that’s what I mean by high-stakes.

“I felt that when David Bowie died – that’s when I started going ‘oh my god, now it’s my generation next’, and then when they took Dolores O’Riordan of The Cranberries.That fucking really shook me. I was really affected by her death you know, because that’s my people.

Garbage on tour

The band’s upcoming tour dates to celebrate 20 years of ‘Version 2.0’ are below. Tickets are available here.


4 – Edinburgh, Edinburgh Festival Theatre
5 – Glasgow, Barrowlands
7 – Bristol, St. Phillips Gate Arena
8 – Birmingham, Digbeth Arena
9 – Manchester, Academy 1 Manchester
11 – Nottingham, Rock City
12 – Newcastle, Northumbria SU Institute
14 – London, O2 Academy Brixton
15 – London, O2 Academy Brixton


You May Like