Gaz Coombes announces new Frank Ocean and hip hop-inspired album, ‘World’s Strongest Man’

The former Supergrass frontman will release his third solo LP in May while its lead single 'Deep Pockets' is out now

Gaz Coombes has announced his brand new album, ‘World’s Strongest Man’ – check out details about the record, as well as newly-announced live plans, below.

The former Supergrass frontman will release his third solo LP on May 4, via Hot Fruit/Caroline International. The release follows 2015’s ‘Matador’ and 2012’s ‘Here Come The Bombs’.

Coombes will return in May with ‘World’s Strongest Man’, with the new record featuring its lead single ‘Deep Pockets’ – which you can listen to below.


‘World’s Strongest Man’ is said to be inspired “variously by Grayson Perry’s the Descent of Man, Frank Ocean’s ‘Blonde’, Californian weed, British woodlands, unchecked masculinity, Neu! and hip hop”.

See the tracklist for ‘World’s Strongest Man’ below.

  1. World’s Strongest Man
  2. Deep Pockets
  3. Walk The Walk
  4. Shit (I’ve Done It Again)
  5. Slow Motion Life
  6. Wounded Egos
  7. Oxygen Mask
  8. In Waves
  9. The Oaks
  10. Vanishing Act
  11. Weird Dreams

Coombes will promote the new record with an initial London show at ULU on February 28 – his first solo gig since January 2016, when he sold out the Roundhouse in the capital.

Tickets for that show will go on sale on Friday (January 12).


Late last year, Coombes was among a host of musicians to be interviewed for a recently-released book, Why Vinyl Matters.