George Ezra adds more dates to 2019 UK arena tour, with Sigrid to support

Coming to a town near you...

Due to phenomenal demand, George Ezra has added more dates to his upcoming 2019 UK arena tour – as well as announcing that Sigrid will be the support act.

The singer-songwriter, who is still in the top five with his acclaimed number one sophomore album ‘Staying At Tamara’s‘ and clinging to the top of the singles chart with his single ‘Shotgun’, is currently completing the summer festival circuit before returning to the road in the winter for some huge UK shows. Now, he’s announced even more gigs – calling at Newcastle, Leeds, Liverpool, Brighton, Nottingham, Cardiff, Glasgow, Manchester, Birmingham and London in the new year.

After tickets went on sale this morning, extra shows have now been added at the O2 Arena in London on March 20, Sheffield’s FlyDSA Arena on March 22 and Manchester Arena on March 23.

Tipped by the NME 100 as one of the most essential new acts to keep an eye on in 2018 (as well as being crowned winner of the BBC Sound Of poll), rising Norwegian star Sigrid will also be joining Ezra for his run of Spring 2019 shows.

Ezra’s full upcoming tour dates are below. All tickets are available here.

Friday August 17 2018 – NEWMARKET Racecourse
Saturday August 18 2018 – SHEFFIELD Don Valley Bowl
Thursday November 8 2018 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Friday November 9 2018 – LIVERPOOL Liverpool Su Mountford Hall
Saturday November 10 2018 – HULL Bonus Arena, Hull
Monday November 12 2018 – GLASGOW Barrowland
Tuesday November 13 2018 – GLASGOW Barrowland
Thursday November 15 2018 – LONDON SSE Arena, Wembley
Friday November 16 2018 – SWINDON Oasis Leisure Centre
Thursday March 7 2019 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE Metro Radio Arena
Friday March 8 2019 – LEEDS first direct Arena
Saturday March 9 2019 – LIVERPOOL Liverpool Echo Arena
Monday March 11 2019 – BRIGHTON Centre
Tuesday March 12 2019 – NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena Nottingham
Wednesday March 13 2019 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena Cardiff
Friday March 15 2019 – GLASGOW SSE Hydro
Saturday March 16 2019 – MANCHESTER Arena
Sunday March 17 2019 – BIRMINGHAM Genting Arena
Tuesday March 19 2019 – LONDON O2
Wednesday March 20 2019 – LONDON O2
Friday March 22 2019 – SHEFFIELD FlyDSA Arena
Saturday March 23 2019 – MANCHESTER Arena

This comes after Ezra recently revealed that he called a crisis meeting with his record company last year after two of his singles flopped.

“People just didn’t want it,” Ezra said of the songs, adding there was only a crisis meeting because he “called it.”

“I don’t want to sound like the inspirational quote on the wall of a secondary school staff room, but ‘Don’t Matter Now’ failing was the best thing that could have happened to me. I realised how much I must have been taking it all for granted.”

His breakout single, ‘Budapest’ launched him to stardom in 2014, reaching number 3 in the singles charts. ‘Don’t Matter Now’, conversely, failed to trouble the top 70 last year. Ezra told The Guardian that he thought his career might be over.

“It’s one thing having one single that doesn’t work, but having two in a row is a sign of the end,” Ezra said.

George Ezra

The singer also asked his bosses to be “completely honest” with him about “what [was] going on.”

His bosses responded by telling him the album needed to be pushed back, with one person there reportedly telling the star the release had “no fucking momentum.”

Ezra described how he took a new approach to writing, adding: “When we were releasing ‘Paradise’, I said, out loud: ‘I’m going to give this everything I’ve got.’”

The song – the first written by Ezra entirely on his own – reached number 2 earlier this year.