New George Harrison album to be released

The Beatles legend is also awarded a star on the Hollywood Walk Of Fame

A new collection of some of George Harrison‘s best-loved songs is to be released this June.

‘Let It Roll: Songs By George Harrison’ will feature music from throughout Harrison‘s solo recording career, with tracks including ‘My Sweet Lord’, ‘Isn’t It A Pity’, ‘Give Me Love (Give Me Peace On Earth)’ and ‘Got My Mind Set On You’.

Three Harrison-penned Beatle tracks, recorded live at his 1971 Concert For Bangladesh, will also appear on the album, which is released on June 16.


The Beatles‘ tracks featured are ‘Something’, ‘While My Guitar Gently Weeps’ and ‘Here Comes The Sun’. The album’s complete tracklisting is yet to be announced in full.

Harrison was yesterday (April 14) posthumously inducted into the Hollywood Walk Of Fame. His widow Olivia and son Dhani, along with friends including Paul McCartney, Tom Hanks, Eric Idle and Tom Petty, unveiled Harrison‘s star outside the Capital Records building in Los Angeles, watched by hundreds of fans.

Olivia Harrison praised her husband at the event.

“We all have deep feelings for George because he was such a deep-feeling person,” she told the crowd. “Once you’d met him you couldn’t help but be drawn into his world. And he wanted to be in your world too.”

Harrison‘s Beatles bandmate McCartney called the ceremony “wonderful”, while Hanks also paid tribute to Harrison, reports BBC.

“Every record was an event, every cut was an opera, the entire story told ours,” he said. “All things must pass, sure, but George is going to live forever.”


Meanwhile, watch video footage of Harrison’s induction into the Hollywood Walk Of Fame on the LA Woman blog.