Foals share DIY-style video for ‘White Onions’ and announce new intimate shows

They play two intimate shows in Leeds and London

Foals have released the video for ‘White Onions’, the fourth track highlighted from their new album, ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1’.

In the black-and-white clip released today (March 11), viewers are invited to watch the band up close in what appears to be a small rehearsal room. The video’s jerky camera work reflects the urgency of a song that recalls much of the math-rock of their earlier material.


Foals have also announced two intimate shows as part of their upcoming summer tour. They play O2 Academy Leeds on May 23 and the Pryzm in Kingston on June 27. Tickets for the shows will be available from Crash Records (Leeds) and Banquet Records (Kingston) from 11am tomorrow morning (March 12) as part of a bundle that adds a CD (£15), vinyl (£25) or both CD and vinyl (£35).

At the time of writing Foals’ latest album is sitting at Number One in the UK midweek charts ahead of Sigrid and Dido [via Official Charts].

Foals. Credit: Fiona Garden/NME

NME has praised the Oxford band’s fifth studio album, calling it their “best album to date” and noting the band’s smart blending of “the intricacies and experimentalism” of their math-rock days with the “bolshy production brilliance” of later albums.

Foals UK tour dates 2019:



23 – Leeds, O2 Academy


11 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse (SOLD OUT)
12 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse  (SOLD OUT)
14 – Tunbridge Wells, Bedgebury Pinetum
15 – Birmingham, Digbeth Arena (SOLD OUT)
16 – Birmingham, Digbeth Arena
18 – Glasgow, SWG3 Yard (SOLD OUT)
20 – Thetford, Thetford Forest
21 – London, Alexandra Palace (SOLD OUT)
22 – London, Alexandra Palace (SOLD OUT)
26 – Bournemouth, International Centre
27 – Kingston, Pryzm

Meanwhile, on Thursday (March 8) the band debuted ‘Exits’ for its first live video broadcast as part of Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show. Watch the performance filmed at Kew Gardens here.

The band are preparing to release another record this year, ‘Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost: Part 2’, which Philippakis said – “to put crudely” – will have a “heavier rock frenetic energy” than the “more keyboard-driven” sound of the band’s first 2019 record.