Glassjaw share new track ‘Shira’ from first album in 15 years ‘Material Control’

Band release new record next week (December 1)

US post-hardcore outfit Glassjaw have announced their first album in 15 years (out next week) and shared a song from it. Scroll below to hear ‘Shira’.

The New York band will release ‘Material Control’ next Friday (December 1). It’s their first LP since 2002’s ‘Worship and Tribute’ and follows on from 2011 free EP ‘Coloring Book’.

Ahead of the album’s release, they’ve also unveiled album track ‘Shira’. Listen to that below.


Glassjaw 'Material Control' album cover
Glassjaw ‘Material Control’ album cover

See the album’s full tracklisting below. The record includes the band’s 2015 single ‘New White Extremity’.

1 ‘New White Extremity’
2 ‘Shira’
3 ’11 Days’
4 ‘Golgotha’
5 ‘Pretty Hell’
6 ‘Bastille Day’
7 ‘Pompeii’
8 ‘Bibleland’
9 ‘Closer’
10 ‘My Conscience Weighs A Ton’
11 ‘Material Control’
12 ‘Cut And Run’

In 2011, Glassjaw said they had no plans to release a third album, arguing that “full-length records are becoming irrelevant”.

Speaking to Kerrang! at the time, singer Daryl Palumbo said: “People are so hung up on us not having a full-length out that they’re overlooking the fact that record labels are becoming increasingly irrelevant, that full-length records are becoming irrelevant and the whole album/tour cycle is pretty irrelevant.”


He added that the band want to “put music out as it occurs and not bore people with 15 songs”.