Glastonbury Festival’s Shangri-La area announces ‘Afterlife’ theme

The after-hours area will feature a host of weird and wonderful stages and performances

Glastonbury‘s legendary Shangri-La after-hours area has announced plans for an ‘Afterlife’ theme.

The theme will run for the next four years of the festival, and follows 2008-2011’s rise and fall of a Bladerunner style pleasure city, which was apparently destroyed in last year’s fallow year by the Mayan apocalypse.

A press release for the new theme states:

Once you’ve entered the Shangri-La Afterlife there’s no saying what your fate might hold. You could stumble across a secret headline performance at the epic open air Hell Stage, blag your way into Heaven to drink divine cocktails in the Garden of Eaden, rub shoulders with a pole dancing angel in The Temple of the Blessed Snakepit or wander wide eyed through the winding alleys of the Seven Circles of Hell.


The new venues include the Hell Stage arena, “a circle built of black gothic shards and brimmed with raging flames”, as well as The Seven Circles of Hell – the new name for the Shangri-La alleys – which will be based on a Dante’s Inferno style journey.

The Heaven area will feature The Waiting Rooms, The Heavenly Lounge, Temple of The Blessed Snake Pit and The Garden of Eaden. “At the centre of Heaven is the Garden of Eaden, where the angelic elite are chosen to drink from the waterfall bar, lounge on luxury beds and experience the mythical surprises inside,” says the press release.

A host of other new areas are set to be revealed at this year’s Glastonbury, including The Arctic Dome, Genosys and The Summerhouse.

More new areas, named Blues, Glasto Latino, Gully, Sonic and William’s Green will also be open at the festival, which takes place June 28-30.

Arctic Monkeys, The Rolling Stones and Mumford & Sons will headline this year’s Glastonbury. Other high-profile performers include Dizzee Rascal, Vampire Weekend, Portishead, Foals, Alt-J, Tame Impala, Public Enemy, Rodriguez, The Horrors, Django Django, Phoenix, Crystal Castles, Sinéad O’Connor, Stevie Winwood and Evan Dando.