Glen Campbell covers Green Day, Foo Fighters on new album

The country legend reinterprets his favourite tunes

Glen Campbell has announced that he will release an album of cover songs by some of his favourite artists including Travis, Foo Fighters, U2 and Green Day.

‘Meet Glen Campbell’ is due out in the US on August 19, a week ahead of its UK release on August 25, and features 10 tracks that have “struck a personal and musical chord” and “moved and inspired” the country music icon.

Campbell also covers songs by Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers, The Replacements, Velvet Underground, Jackson Brown and John Lennon on the new album. He has “reinterpreted and re-imagined both older and contemporary songs with his own signature vocal and guitar arrangements,” according to a statement.


The album tracklisting is:

‘Sing’ – Travis

‘Walls’ – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

‘Angel Dream’ – Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

‘Times Like These’ – Foo Fighters

‘These Days’ – Jackson Browne


‘Sadly Beautiful’ – The Replacements

‘All I Want Is You’ – U2

‘Jesus’ – Velvet Underground

‘Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)’ – Green Day

‘Grow Old With Me’ – John Lennon

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.