Gnarls Barkley set new chart record with ‘Crazy’

First single to go to number one on download sales only

Gnarls Barkley have made UK chart history today (April 2) as their single ‘Crazy’ has become the first to go to number one on download sales alone.

The duo – producer Danger Mouse and hip hop star Cee-lo – sold 31,703 digital downloads this week, knocking last week’s chart-topper Ne-Yo down to number two. It is the first time a song not available in the shops has managed the feat. Ne-Yo’s So Sick managed to out-sell Morrissey’s comeback single ‘You Have Killed Me’ which was the second highest new entry at number three.

“This is an exciting development and a watershed in charts history, which show that legal downloads have truly arrived,” HMV chart expert Gennaro Castaldo said of ‘Crazy’. “It is HMV Digital’s biggest-ever selling download and we’re beginning to see this market really start to take off.”

He added that when the physical single is released tomorrow it should sell enough to keep it at the chart summit for a second week.

Other movement on the top 10 seesThe Kooks bounce back up the chart from number 28 to number six with ‘Naive’ while The Streets enter at eight with first single off their third album ‘When You Wasn’t Famous’. Milburn, Editors and Depeche Mode are amongst the other new acts on the top 30.

This week’s top 10 looks like this:

1. Gnarls Barkley – ‘Crazy’

2. Ne*Yo – ‘So Sick’

3. Morrissey – ‘You Have Killed Me’

4. Embrace – ‘Nature’s Law’

5. Orson – ‘No Tomorrow’

6. Kooks – ‘Naïve’

7. Black Eyed Peas – ‘Pump It’

8. The Streets – ‘When You Wasn’t Famous’

9. Pussycat Dolls Ft Will.I.Am – ‘Beep’

10. Pink – ‘Stupid Girls’

On the album charts, Embrace enter at number one with new record ‘This New Day’. The announcement that they will perform the official England football World Cup song gave sales a lift and has seen them knock last week’s biggest seller Journey South to number three.

Meanwhile, trip hop veterans Massive Attack see their greatest hits ‘Collected’ enter at two and Yeah Yeah Yeahs see their second album ‘Show Your Bones’ take a bow at seven. The Kooks single success is mirrored on the album chart as their debut ‘Inside In, Inside Out’ climbs from 33 to nine.