Elliott Smith, Steven Malkmus and Sleater-Kinney join the acclaimed Australian band...

Elliott Smith, members of Sleater-Kinney and Pavement‘s STEVE MALKMUS have all combined on the recording of a new album by Australian veterans THE GO-BETWEENS.

The record, ‘The Friends Of Rachel Worth’, will be released through Circus on September 11. It is the first from the hugely-influential band since ’16 Lovers Lane’ in 1988.

Go-Betweens mainstays Robert Forster and Grant McLennan decamped to Portland, Oregon during February to record. Such is the following their new wave pop has amongst the American loaf rock community that Malkmus immediately volunteered his equipment for the studio sessions, and Smith is said to have jumped at the chance to play keyboards.

The rest of the backing band are Janet Weiss (Sleater-Kinney) on drums, Sam Coombes (Quasi) on piano, Carrie Brownstein and Corin Tucker (Sleater-Kinney) on guitar and vocals and Adele Pickvance on bass.

In true Go-Betweens economic style, there are only 10 tracks on the record. The tracklisting is as follows:

‘Magic In Here’, ‘Heart And Home’, ‘Spirit’, ‘Surfing Magazines’, ‘The Clock’, ‘Orpheus Beach’, ‘German Farmhouse’, ‘Going Blind’, ‘He Lives My Life’, ‘When She Sang About Angels’.

A September tour of the UK is presently being finalised. It will be the Go-Betweens first full tour since 1989, although Forster and McLennan revived the name to perform three UK dates in 1997.