Godspeed You! Black Emperor stream new album ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’ – listen

The four-track record follows 2012's 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!'

Godspeed You! Black Emperor are airing their new album online.

The Canadian post-rock group will release their new album ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’ next week (March 31). First, you can listen below.


The four-track record follows 2012’s ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!’ and 2002’s Steve Albini-produced ‘Yanqui UXO’.

According to a press release, the album is “arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band’s career”. It adds the record is made up of “a mighty slab of superlative sonics, shot through with all the band’s inimitable signposts and touchstones: huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions.”

Godspeed You! Black Emperor will support its release with a short run of UK and Ireland tour dates in April. Scroll down for a full tracklisting and also for tour information.

The ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’ tracklisting is:

‘Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!”
‘Lambs’ Breath’
‘Asunder, Sweet’
‘Piss Crowns Are Trebled’

Godspeed You! Black Emperor will play:


Manchester Albert Hall (April 17)
Dublin Vicar Street (18)
Glasgow ABC (19)
London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire (20)