Godspeed You! Black Emperor announce new album ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’

The band will also tour the UK and Ireland in April

Godspeed You! Black Emperor will release their new album ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’ on March 31.

The band reformed in 2010. The new record follows 2012’s ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!’ and 2002’s Steve Albini-produced ‘Yanqui UXO’. See the LP’s artwork above.

They worked on the album with sound engineer Greg Norman (Electrical Audio) in North Carolina and Montreal and will support its release with a short run of UK and Ireland tour dates in April. Scroll down for a full tracklisting and also for tour information. The album comprises just four tracks, but its run time is 40 minutes.


According to a press release, the album is “arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band’s career.” It adds the record is made up of “a mighty slab of superlative sonics, shot through with all the band’s inimitable signposts and touchstones: huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions.”

The ‘Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress’ tracklisting is:

‘Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!”
‘Lambs’ Breath’
‘Asunder, Sweet’
‘Piss Crowns Are Trebled’

Godspeed You! Black Emperor will play:

Manchester Albert Hall (April 17)
Dublin Vicar Street (18)
Glasgow ABC (19)
London O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire (20)