Godspeed You! Black Emperor announce first new album since 2002

'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!' will come out on October 15

Godspeed You Black Emperor have announced plans for their first new album in a decade.

The cult Canadian post-rock band will be putting out ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!’ on October 15, via their own label, Constellation Records.

Their fourth album follows 2002’s Steve Albini-produced ‘Yanqui UXO’, and is their first release since reforming in 2010. The band ‘silently released’ the record last night (October 1) at a gig in Boston.


A press release about the new album – via Spin – says that band are keen to keep out of the media spotlight with the new record like they did with the release of their last album, in order to achieve “unmediated, unsullied musical communication”.

However, they admit that changes in the music industry and the rise of the social media means that “such simple principles and goals have become harder to maintain”.

It reads: “For all the contents and discontents – for all the ‘content’ – of our present cultural moment, the very idea of circumventing the glare of exposure or the careful plotting of media cycles and identity management appears futile. But Godspeed is looking to try all the same.”

The press release continues: “The band wants people to care about this new album, without telling people they should. They want people to experience the thrill of anonymous and uncalculated transmission, knowing full well that these days, anti-strategy risks being tagged as a strategy, non-marketing framed as its opposite, and deeply held principles they consider fundamental to health as likely to be interpreted as just another form of stealth.”