Gorillaz announce tracklisting for free album ‘The Fall’

Damon Albarn says the album 'feels like a journey through America'

Gorillaz have announced the tracklisting of their new album ‘The Fall’, which is due to be released for free on Christmas Day to the band’s fan club members.

Damon Albarn described the recording of the album, which was recorded on his iPad over 32 days on the band’s North American tour this Autumn, as a welcome distraction from the monotony of touring.

“I did it because there’s a lot of time that you just spend staring at walls essentially. And it was a fantastic way of doing it,” he told Gorillaz.com. “I found working in the day, whether it’s in the hotel or in the venue, it was a brilliant way of keeping myself well.”

Albarn added that he thinks of the collection, which will be released physically later in 2011, as being “like a diary”.

He added: “I literally wrote everything on the day in each place and there’s a strange sort of sound of America and its musical traditions that comes through. It feels like a journey through America.”

The tracklisting for ‘The Fall’ is:

‘Phoner To Arizona’
‘Revolving Doors’
‘HillBilly Man’
‘Little Pink Plastic Bags’
‘The Joplin Spider’
‘The Parish Of Space Dust’
‘The Snake In Dallas’
‘The Speak It Mountains’
‘Aspen Forest’
‘Bobby In Phoenix’
‘California And The Slipping Of The Sun’
‘Seattle Yodel’