Gorillaz reveal details of new album ‘Humanz’

It's their first record in six years

Details of Gorillaz’s new album have been revealed following months of speculation.

The record, the band’s first LP in six years, will be titled ‘Humanz’ and released on April 28. They will play the album in full at a London gig on Friday.

The band have aired four new songs from it today, ‘Saturnz Barz’, ‘Andromeda’, ‘We Got The Power’ and ‘Ascension’. Read NME‘s reviews of the new tracks.


As well as Blur frontman Damon Albarn and collaborator Jamie Hewlett, guests on the record include Grace Jones, De La Soul, Savages’ Jehnny Beth, Danny Brown, Pusha T, Mavis Staples, Kali Uchis, Kelela, Vince Staples, DRAM, Popcaan, Jamie Principle, Kilo Kish, Anthony Hamilton, Peven Everett, and Zebra Katz. It was already known that Benjamin Clementine appears on the record.

Speaking on Radio 1, Albarn said that the album is “a party record, club record”.

He added: “We’re in transition we’re turning into something else. This album came from this dark fantasy that came into my head at the beginning of last year. Just imagine the most weirdest, most unpredictable thing happening that changes everything about the world. How will you feel on that night? It’s not about Donald Trump at all, but we were imagining that happening in a way, and that was our dark fantasy that became a reality.”

The artwork is below:


‘Humanz’ tracklist:

1 Ascension feat. Vince Staples
2 Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
3 Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
4 Momentz feat. De La Soul
5 Submission feat. Danny Brown and Kelela
6 Charger feat. Grace Jones
7 Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
8 Busted and Blue
9 Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
10 Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples and Pusha T
11 Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle and Zebra Katz
12 She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
13 Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
14 We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth


Deluxe edition bonus tracks:

15 The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz, and RAY BLK
16 Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
17 Out Of Body feat. Kilo Kish, Zebra Katz, and Imani Vonshà
18 Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon and Kali Uchis
19 Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

In January, Gorillaz returned with the Donald Trump protest song ‘Hallelujah Money’ featuring Benjamin Clementine. Read our review of the ‘Hallelujah Money’ here.

Its video featured Clementine performing in front of Trump-esque gold elevator, while images of native African dancers, the La Candelaria brotherhood in Spain and a number of other cultures appear behind him, as well as silhouettes of Gorillaz themselves and a brief cameo from SpongeBob Squarepants.

The band are set to play their very own festival this summer, with Demon Dayz festival taking place at Dreamland in Margate.

Meanwhile, Gorillaz are also reissuing their ‘Demon Days’ album on vinyl for the first time.