The sound of next year – The Great Escape announces first 50 artists for 2019 line-up

It's time to get excited for festivals in 2019

With summer festival season now behind us, The Great Escape have already announced their first 50 artists for 2019.

The 13th edition of this legendary showcase of new and rising acts will take place in Brighton across multiple venues in May.

This first batch of acts to be announced will also play the ‘First Fifty’ shows in London in November.

The first 50 artists include Peckham’s masked drill artist Kwengface, contemporary folk artist Mathilda Homer and new wave Glasgow band Walt Disco, who drove all night to get to Bestival this year.

Scandinavian industrialist duo SKYND, who collaborated with Korn’s Jonathan Davis on their second single, surreal alt-pop Korean-British duo Wooze, and Slow Club’s Rebecca Taylor, under her solo alias Self Esteem, will also perform.

The first 50 acts on the line-up for The Great Escape 2019 are:

Askjell / Bea1991 / Blackwave / Bobbie Johnson / Briet / Casey Lowry / Chappaqua Wrestling / Connie Constance / Crack Cloud / Dayo Bello / Dboy / Duendita / Ed The Dog / Emerson Snowe / Emily Burns / Fontaines D.C. / Fuzzy Sun / Himalayas / Indoor Pets / JC Stewart / Jeffe / Jockstrap / Juniore / Jvck James / Kara Marni / Kawala / Krush Puppies / Kwengface / L Devine / LUCIA  / Mathilda Homer / Millie Turner / Nia Wyn / Penelope Isles / Pip Blom / Radiant Children / Rebecca Garton / Ren / Sam Tompkins / Self Esteem / Shey Baba / Sick Joy / Skynd / Squid / Steam Down / The Howl and The Hum / Tiana Major9 / Walt Disco / Wooze / Zuzu

Last year, Tom Grennan, Japanese Breakfast, Superorganism, Tom Walker and Pale Waves played The Great Escape.

‘The First Fifty’ showcases will take place across multiple venues in London from November 27-29,  while The Great Escape returns to Brighton from May 9-11. For tickets and more information, visit here.