The punk trio go straight to the top of the UK album charts tonight (September 26)...

[url=]GREEN DAY’s ’AMERICAN IDIOT’ has shot straight to the top of the UK album charts tonight (September 26).

The punk trio knocked Music’s ’Out Of Nothing’ from the number one position to two, while Bryan Adams’s second LP ’Welcome To The North’ entered the run-down at eight.

Other new entries on the album chart included 22-20s’ ’Room Service’ debuting at four, Paul McCartney[/a] self-titled album sneaking in at 40.

Eric Prydz’s ’Call On Me’ stays at the number one spot in the UK singles chart, with Donny Osmond being the only new entry inside the Top Ten with ’Breeze On By’ going in at eight.

Other singles making their chart debut this week included The Ordinary Boys[/a]’s ’Keep What Ya Got’ going in at 18, [/a] ’Tropic Island Hum / We All Stand Together’ going in at 21, ’My Recovery Injection’ by [a] debuting at 24 and [a][/a] entering at 27 with ’Seaside’.

This week’s Top Ten singles are:

1. Eric Prydz – ‘Call On Me’

2. Girls Aloud – ‘Love Machine’

3. Nelly – ‘My Place / Flap Your Wings’

4. Jojo – ‘Leave’

5. Green Day – ‘American Idiot’

6. Brian McFadden – ‘Real To Me’

7. 3 Of A Kind – ‘Baby Cakes’

8. Donny Osmond – ‘Breeze On By’

9. Twista – ‘Sunshine’

10. Natasha Bedingfield – ‘These Words’