Grizzly Bear unveil new album ‘Painted Ruins’ and announce UK tour

The Brooklyn band have also shared another new song, 'Mourning Sound', following the release of the album's lead single earlier this month

Grizzly Bear have announced their long-awaited fifth album, ‘Painted Ruins’, while also releasing a new song and confirming a slew of UK and Ireland tour dates.

The Brooklyn four-piece have returned after a five-year absence with the new record, which follows 2012’s ‘Shields’. That album followed their break-out third LP ‘Vecktamist’, which was released in 2009 and contained the popular single ‘Two Weeks’.


Set to arrive on August 18 via RCA, Grizzly Bear’s ‘Painted Ruins’ was produced by the band’s bassist Chris Taylor. After revealing its lead single, ‘Three Rings’, earlier this month, the band have today (May 17) shared a second song from the album – listen to ‘Mourning Sound’ and see the tracklist for ‘Painted Ruins’ below.

‘Painted Ruins’:

01 Wasted Acres
02 Mourning Sound
03 Four Cypresses
04 Three Rings
05 Losing All Sense
06 Aquarian
07 Cut-Out
08 Glass Hillside
09 Neighbors
10 Systole
11 Sky Took Hold

Grizzly Bear have also announced a string of UK and Ireland tour dates to accompany the arrival of ‘Painted Ruins’, kicking off in Dublin on October 5.



5 – Vicar Street, Dublin
6 – Albert Hall, Manchester
8 – O2 ABC, Glasgow
9 – O2 Academy Brixton, London

Following Donald Trump‘s victory in the US Presidential Election last November, Grizzly Bear frontman Ed Droste launched a fierce tirade against the now-President.

“‘Trump’s America’ is a continuation of white supremacy,” Droste wrote on Instagram. “I CANNOT deal with whites that feel ‘marginalized’. This country is built on blood, and all y’all ‘make America great again’ idiots are literally harkening back to a fictional idea of the past.”