Gruff Rhys wins first ever Welsh Music Prize

Super Furry Animals man scores the new award with 'Hotel Shampoo'

Gruff Rhys has won the inaugural Welsh Music Prize with his album ‘Hotel Shampoo’.

Manic Street Preachers, The Joy Formidable and The Blackout were among the other acts nominated for the new award, which is being billed as Wales’ equivalent to the Mercury Music Prize.

“Everyone on the list deserved to win, so I am very grateful,” said Rhys at the ceremony at Cardiff‘s Kuku Club today (October 21). “I really didn’t expect to win, so I didn’t prepare anything.”


Other nominated artists for the prize include Funeral For A Friend, and Y Niwl. The winner was picked by a panel of which included Reading Festival booker Neil Pengelly, NME‘s own Deputy Editor Mike Williams and BBC Radio Wales and 6 Music DJ Bethan Elfyn.

The full list of nominees for the Welsh Music Prize was:

Al Lewis – ‘In The Wake’
Colorama – ‘Box’
Funeral For A Friend – ‘Welcome Home Armageddon’
Gruff Rhys – ‘Hotel Shampoo’
Lleuwen – ‘Tan’
Manic Street Preachers – ‘Postcards From A Young Man’
Stagga – ‘The Warm Air Room’
Sweet Baboo – ‘I’m A Dancer/Songs About Sleepin”
The Blackout – ‘Hope’
The Gentle Good – ‘Tethered For The Storm’
The Joy Formidable – ‘The Big Roar’
Y Niwl – ‘Y Niwl’