Axl Rose premieres the band's new line-up in Las Vegas - but he doesn't forget the old classics...

GUNS N’ ROSES unveiled new material from their forthcoming ‘CHINESE DEMOCRACY’ album at their first gig for seven years at LAS VEGAS HOUSE OF BLUES on NEW YEAR’S EVE.

The two-hour set began three hours late at 3.30am, kicking off with ‘Welcome To The Jungle’ and according to fan reports on the unofficial website [url=], the set was primarily drawn from the ‘Appetite For Destruction’ album, while five new songs were aired. They were called ‘The Blues’, ‘Chinese Democracy’, ‘Oklahoma’, ‘Oh My God’ and ‘Silk Worms’.

One fan, Auston, posted a review on 2000 Intentions’ unofficial site messageboard, saying that with the exception of ‘The Blues’ most of the new material “wasn’t very musical,” but the gig overall was “fantastic, worth every penny”.


New guitarist Buckethead played the entire gig with a KFC bucket on his head and a white Phantom Of The Opera-style mask on his face. As the stage wasn’t very big, the backdrop was minimal, with a video screen projecting images including war atrocities and swimming dolphins.

The set also included the majority of the band’s classic tracks, including ‘It’s So Easy’, ‘Mr Brownstone’, ‘Live And Let Die’, ‘Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door’, ‘Sweet Child O’ Mine’, ‘Nightrain’, ‘Oh My God’, ‘My Michelle’, ‘November Rain’ and ‘You Could Be Mine’.

The only original members of the band who remain from its previous incarnation are frontman Axl Rose and Dizzy Reed on keyboards. There were a few technical glitches, with a relaxed-looking Axl declaring that they had only begun rehearsing for the show the Thursday before (December 28). During a technical hitch, when the piano wasn’t working properly during ‘Patience’, he sat on top of it and the crowd began to chant “welcome back”.

At another point during the show, Axl admitted he felt weird about playing old material with the new band, which includes Tommy Stinson, ex-Replacements on bass, Brian Mantia of Primus on drums, and Chris Pitman of Replicants, Paul Tobias (Buckethead) and Nine Inch Nails’ Robin Finck on guitar.