Gwen Stefani collaborates with Keane

No Doubt leader works with keyboardist

Gwen Stefani has collaborated with Keane keyboardist Tim Rice-Oxley on her new album ’The Sweet Escape’.

The title of the song is not known, but is one of the many collaborations on the new album, which is out on December 4.

Stefani also worked with No Doubt bassist Tony Kanal on the song ’Fluorescent’. Akon produced the title track, and the star collaborated with Beyonce songwriter Swizz Beatz on another tune.

Stefani said that she had enough material for a double album, but cut it down to a single. She left off ’Fine By You’ – the first song she wrote with Courtney Love collaborator Linda Perry, ’Wonderful Life For Him’ – which featured Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore on guitar, ’Parental Advisory’ and ’You Started It’.

The bulk of the songs that did make it onto ’The Sweet Escape’ include several collaborations with Pharrell Williams, including ’Candyland’ ’Breaking Up’ and ’Orange County Girl’.

Speaking about the latter, she told MTV it was inspired by her mother Patti.

She said: “I love that song, it’s a sick song, it’s a song I always needed to have, but people are trying to post the lyrics and they’re getting the lyrics so wrong.

“I’m so proud of them, because it’s so exactly like growing up in Orange County and how I got to this point. And reading them, someone had posted that I had copied what my mom said on ‘Oprah’.

“My mom got asked something and she said, ‘My daughter Gwen is just an ordinary girl in an extraordinary world.’ And I went, ‘She’s right!’ So I e-mailed my mom, ‘I copied your lyrics, you need credit.'”

Although a release date has not been announced, the first single from the album will be the Pharrell Williams-produced ’Wind It Up’.