HEALTH confirm details of new album ‘Death Magic’ – hear first song ‘New Coke’ now

The noise fourpiece will release their third album in August

Experimental outfit HEALTH have announced details of their third album, as well as sharing a video for a track from it.

The noise group recently shared lead single ‘New Coke’, now unveiling an accompanying clip. You can watch that video below, it features a slow-motion shot of a man vomiting.

HEALTH’s new album ‘Death Magic’ will be released on August 7, following on from 2009’s ‘Get Color’ and their 2007 self-titled debut. In 2012, the group worked on the soundtrack for video game ‘Max Payne 3’.


The band worked on ‘Death Magic’ with electronic musician The Haxan Cloak, Mars Volta engineer Lars Stalfors and Kanye West engineer Andrew Dawson. Scroll beneath for the album’s full tracklisting.

The band previewed a handful of new tracks at two London shows during 2013. HEALTH performed unheard tracks at Dalston venue Birthdays in June of that year.

Speaking to NME in 2013, bassist John Famiglietti admitted that the group found it hard not to be affected by the rise of EDM in the US and the likes of Skrillex.

“When music changes and especially when the whole landscape of music changes as it has done with EDM, it changes the way you think about music, even just subconsciously,” he explained. “Music is different now, there’s no denying it.”

Asked whether EDM had had any direct effect on Health, he responded: “I don’t know if there’s anything direct. We’re not trying to sound like anybody but yeah, of course it changes things [for us]. There’s a lot of stuff we wanted to reflect in the new music, like how our taste in music has changed and how music has changed. There’s a lot of electronic sub bass on the new album!”


The ‘Death Magic’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Men Today’
‘Flesh World (UK)’
‘Courtship II’
‘Dark Enough’
‘New Coke’
‘L.A. Looks’
‘Hurt Yourself’
‘Drugs Exist’