Here are the Mercury Music Prize 2018 nominations

Check out who has made this year's shortlist

This year’s Mercury Music prize shortlist has been revealed.

As predicted by NME’s very own Tom Connick, Arctic Monkeys‘ latest album ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino‘ has made the list along with Jorja Smith’s ‘Lost & Found‘, Sons Of Kemet’s ‘Your Queen Is A Reptile’ and King Krule’s ‘The Ooz’.

The Mercury Music Prize shortlist 2018 is:


Arctic Monkeys – ‘Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino’
Everything Everything – ‘A Fever Dream’
Everything Is Recorded – ‘Everything Is Recorded’
Florence And The Machine – ‘High As Hope’
Jorja Smith’s – ‘Lost & Found’
King Krule – ‘The Ooz’
Lily Allen – ‘No Shame’
Nadine Shah – ‘Holiday Destination’
Noel Gallagher – ‘Who Built The Moon?’
Novelist – ‘Novelist Guy’
Sons Of Kemet – ‘Your Queen Is A Reptile’
Wolf Alice – ‘Visions Of A Life’

Noel Gallagher‘s latest album ‘Who Built The Moon‘ and Florence And The Machine’s ‘High As Hope‘ also made the shortlist as did Lily Allen with ‘No Shame’ and Wolf Alice’s second LP ‘Visions Of A Life.

Other artists that made this year’s cut include Everything Everything with their 2017 LP ‘A Fever Dream’, MC Novelist’s recent debut album ‘Novelist Guy’, Nadine Shah’s fifth album ‘Holiday Destination’ and Richard Russell’s project ‘Everything Is Recorded’.

But there were some surprising omissions from the list including Shame’s debut ‘Songs Of Praise’, Goat Girl’s self-titled debut and Hookworms’ latest album ‘Microshift’ and Young Fathers’ ‘Cocoa’.

This year’s judges included Clara Amfo – Broadcaster & DJ, broadcaster and writer Danielle Perry, Ella Eyre, Harriet Gibsone – Deputy Editor, The Guardian Guide, Jamie Cullum, Jeff Smith – Head of Music, 6 Music and Radio 2, Lianne La Havas, Marcus Mumford, Mike Walsh – Head of Music, Radio X, MistaJam – DJ & Broadcaster, Phil Alexander – Creative Director, Kerrang!/Contributing Editor, Mojo, Will Hodgkinson – Chief Rock & Pop Critic, The Times and the Chair of the judging panel Jeff Smith.


The judges said: “This year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize celebrates albums by musicians at all stages of their careers, but with a shared belief in the importance of music for navigating life’s challenges – whether personal or political, falling in or out of love, growing up or looking back, angry or ecstatic. The music here is funny and inspiring, smart and moving. 12 amazing albums!”

The 2018 Awards Show will take place on Thursday 20 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

The event will feature live performances from many of the shortlisted artists and the evening will culminate in the announcement of the overall winner of the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize for Album of the Year.