Here’s all the winners from the AIM Independent Music Awards 2018

Here's what went down...

The AIM Independent Music Awards took place in London last night, with the likes of Jorja Smith, IDLES and SOPHIE scooping huge prizes.

The ceremony, hosted by BBC Radio 1’s Mistajam and HQ Trivia’s Sharon Carpenter, saw the UK’s independent music scene coming together to celebrate some of the strongest acts of the year.

Here’s the list of winners in full – including huge wins for Idles and Nadine Shah.

  • Independent Album of the Year – in association with Ingrooves

Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination (1965 Records/[PIAS])

  • Independent Track of the Year – in association with Spotify

Peggy Gou – It Makes You Forget (Itgehane) (Ninja Tune)

  • Best Sophomore Release – in association with Radio X

Let’s Eat Grandma – I’m All Ears (Transgressive)

  • UK Breakthrough of the Year – in association with YouTube

Jorja Smith (FAMM)

  • International Breakthrough of the Year – in association with Deezer

Phoebe Bridgers (Dead Oceans)

  • Best Live Act – in association with Songkick

Erasure (Mute Records)

  • Hardest Working Group or Artist

IDLES (Partisan Records)

  • Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin)

Tracey Thorn

  • Pioneer Award


  • Innovator Award (in association with Fuga)


  • Best Creative Packaging – in association with MCPS

Black Sabbath – The Ten Year War (BMG)

  • Independent Label of the Year – in association with Believe

Ninja Tune

  • Best Small Label – in association with Awesome Merchandise

Black Acre Records

  • Indie Champion Award – in association with [PIAS]

Femi Adeyemi – Founder of NTS Radio

  • PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act

Dave (Dave)

  • Independent Video of the Year – in association with Vevo

Novo Amor – Birthplace (AllPoints) / Directed by Sil van der Woerd & Jorik Dozy