Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor announces new solo album ‘Piano’

It's a stripped down affair, simply piano and voice

Hot Chip‘s Alexis Taylor has announced a new solo album.

Titled ‘Piano’, the album will feature a mixture of new songs, new versions of songs from earlier in Taylor’s career and cover versions, all performed simply with voice and piano.

“The idea with this record was to choose songs of my own and others’ that were personal to me and to document live performances which were intimate and unadorned,” Taylor explained.

“I wanted to reduce everything to the barest elements, record a great piano well and do as little as possible to the recordings eq or effects-wise. The mood created on the record is pretty different from that on other records I have been involved with. It feels like a special place to be able to go to.”

‘Piano’ will be released on Moshi Moshi on June 10 and Taylor will play a one-off intimate live show at London’s Burgh House on June 15. He is also confirmed to play at Tramshed in Cardiff on June 9 as part of the Festival of vVoice.

Taylor has shared the first song from the album, ‘I’m Ready’, with today’s announcement. Scroll down to listen and check out the full track list below.

‘I’m Ready’
‘So Much Further To Go’
‘Crying In The Chapel’
‘Without Your Name’
‘In The Light Of The Room’
‘Lonely Vagabond’
‘Repair Man’
‘Don’t Make My Brown Eyes Blue’
‘I Never Lock That Door’
‘Just For A Little While’
‘Don’t Worry’