Hot Chip play DJ on forthcoming compilation

They pick tracks from New Order, Ray Charles

Hot Chip have compiled 24 songs by various artists who have made an impact on the band for a new DJ album due out late this spring.

‘DJ Kicks by Hot Chip’ will be released on May 21 and is the latest in the ‘DJ Kicks’ series put out by !K7 Records.

Hot Chip have selected a wide array of artists across several genres for the compilation.

The boys have included New Order and Ray Charles, who they cite as influences. Blues singer Etta James, pop star Joe Jackson, and legendary Brazilian crooner Tom Ze also make appearances.

Hot Chip also contributed a new track to the mix, titled ‘My Piano’.

The full tracklisting is:

1. Grovesnor – ‘Nitemoves’

2. Positive K – ‘I Got A Man’

3. Gramme – ‘Like You’

4. Subway – ‘Persuasion’

5. Soundhack – ‘B1’

6. Tom Zé – ‘Cademar’

7. Hot Chip – ‘My Piano (DJ-Kicks)’

8. Wax Stag – ‘Short Road’

9. New Order – ‘Bizarre Love Triangle (Shep Pettibone Extended Remix)’

10. Young Leek -‘Jiggle It’

11. Etta James & Sugar Pie DeSanto – ‘In The Basement, Part One’

12. Black Devil Disco Club – ‘On Just Foot’

13. Dominik Eulberg – ‘Der Buchdrucker’

14. Grauzone – ‘Film 2’

15. This Heat – ‘Radio Prague’

16. Wookie – ‘Far East’

17. Gabriel Ananda – ‘Doppelwhipper (Live)’

18. Marek Bois – ‘You Got Good Ash’

19. Lanark – ‘The Stone That The Builder Rejected’

20. Pete Um – ‘The Man’s Got Me Beat’

21. Nôze – ‘Love Affair’

22. Audion – ‘Just Fucking (Roman Flügel’s 23 Positions In A One-Night Stand Remix)’

23. Joe Jackson – ‘Steppin’ Out’

24. Ray Charles – ‘Mess Around’

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.