Famed LA DJ remixes Klaxons and Bloc Party on new album

Steve Aoki also recruits Hot Hot Heat and The Faint on guest vocals

Famed Los Angeles DJ Steve Aoki has revealed the details of his debut album.

‘Pillowface & His Airplane Chronicles’ is due out on January 22, 2008, and features original remixes of tracks by Klaxons, Franz Ferdinand, Bloc Party, Justice, Peaches, Datarock and Mystery Jets, among others.

Many of these bands have released music on Aoki’s LA-based label, Dim Mak.


In addition, Aoki recruited Hot Hot Heat’s Steve Bays and The Faint’s Todd Fink along with Har Mar Superstar, Mickey Avalon, Uffie, Kid Sister, and Santogold to record original vocals for the album, which he layered over the remixes.

The album tracklisting is:

Refused – ‘New Noise’

Justice – ‘Waters Of Nazereth’ (Erol Alkan’s Durrr Durrr Durrrrrr re-edit and Pase Rock on guest vocals)

Does It Offend You, Yeah? – ‘We Are Rockstars’

Services – ‘Element Of Danger’ (MSTRKRFT remix)


Goose – ‘Bring it On’ (Todd Fink on guest vocals)

Larry Tee & Princess Superstar – ‘Licky’ (Herve Goes Low remix and Santogold on guest vocals)

Green Velvet – ‘Shake and Pop’ (Kid Sister on guest vocals)

Klaxons – ‘Gravity’s Rainbow’ (Soulwax remix)

Mystery Jets – ‘The Boy Who Ran Away’ (Riton re-dub)

Peaches – ‘Boys Wanna Be Her’ (Weird Science remix)

Datarock – ‘Fa-Fa-Fa’ (Steve Bays on guest vocals)

Yelle – ‘Je Veux Te Voir’

Franz Ferdinand – ‘Do You Want To’ (Erol Alkan’s Glam Racket remix)

KIM – ‘Wet ‘N Wild’ (Mickey Avalon on guest vocals)

Bloc Party – ‘Helicopter’ (Weird Science remix feat. Peaches)

Justice – D.A.N.C.E. (MSTRKRFT remix)

Scanners – ‘Low Life’ (L.A. Riots’ remix and Uffie on guest vocals)

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.