Hear Howler’s debut album ‘America Give Up’ exclusively on NME.COM – audio

Listen to the Minneapolis five-piece's album one week ahead of its release

You can hear Howler‘s debut album ‘America Give Up’ exclusively on NME.COM now by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking on the player.

The album isn’t officially released until next Monday (January 16), but you can hear it now in full, exclusively on NME.COM.

The eleven-track album, which will be released via Rough Trade Records, follows the band’s five-track EP ‘This One’s Different’, which they released in August of last year.

Speaking with NME last year, singer Jordan Gatesmith promised that the album would see the band bring back “dirty rock’n’roll”, explaining that tracks such as ‘America’ are influenced by the likes of Bruce Springsteen and Jonathan Richman. He added:

There’s not really been a great rock record, or even a punk record, in ages. I keep hearing a lot of witch house stuff, chillwave, shoegazey keyboards with Casio drums. But not rock, so we wanted to make it dirty rock’n’roll.

NME featured Howler in last week’s magazine as one of the top 100 new bands of 2012. You can listen to them, as well as tracks from all 99 other acts featured in the magazine, by visiting NME.COM/BLOG.

Howler play a headline UK tour later this month, kicking off on January 23 at Louisiana’s Bristol and coming to an end on February 6 at London’s Lexington. Tickets are on sale now. To check the availability of Howler tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.

The tracklisting for ‘America Give Up’, which is already available for pre-order, is as follows:

‘Beach Sluts’
‘Back to the Grave’
‘This One’s Different’
‘Too Much Blood’
‘Wailing (Making Out)’
‘Pythagorean Fearem’
‘Told You Once’
‘Back of Your Neck’
‘Free Drunk’
‘Black Lagoon’

Pre-order the album here.