Hugh Jackman on what “surprises” to expect from his upcoming world tour

"There will be some stuff that people wouldn't associate me with"

Hugh Jackman has revealed that his upcoming world tour will feature surprise special guests and some songs that “people wouldn’t associate him with”. Watch our video interview with the actor above.

Having shifted 1.6 million copies, the soundtrack to the Hugh Jackman-led The Greatest Showman topped the list of 2018’s best-selling albums. Now, he’s set to play the songs from his career and beyond as he hits the road for a UK and European arena tour this summer.

“Doing an arena show, for me, is perhaps the ultimate because of the amount of energy and excitement that you can create,” Jackman told NME. “Surprisingly to me, after doing an arena show in Australia three years ago, you can create a special kind of intimacy.

“It has to be specially crafted. When I go to arenas I love it when people go off-script. You know, like when Adele starts going on about her day, her babysitter, this and that – you love it. You feel like something happened just that night. It’s always been my template for theatre. Nothing can replace the live aspect where something can happen that night.”

Hugh Jackman in The Greatest Showman

As for the setlist, Jackman said that he has a few tricks up his sleeve to keep people guessing.

“I am definitely going to do stuff that people are probably expecting from The Greatest Showman, from Les Miserables and things I’ve done on stage. I love a musical called Dear Evan Hansen which has been a big hit, but I will never get to play the 17-year-old protagonist so I’m going to play some of that and I’m learning to play piano too.

“There will be surprises. Not only will there be some guests, but there will be some stuff that people wouldn’t associate me with. Also, some of the stories I tell will be surprising. I want this show to be more revealing and more personal than ever before.”

The actor and singer also responded to the backlash against The Greatest Showman dominating the album charts – and revealed if he’s likely to make an appearance at Glastonbury this year.

Jackman’s upcoming UK and European tour dates are below.

Tuesday May 7 – SSE Hydro Glasgow, UK
Wednesday May 8 – SSE Hydro Glasgow, UK
Sunday, May 12 – Sportspalais Antwerp, Belgium
Monday May 13 – Barclaycard Arena Hamburg, Germany
Tuesday May 14 – Mercedes-Benz Arena Berlin, Germany
Thursday May 16 – Lanxess Arena Cologne, Germany
Friday May 17 – Ziggo Dome Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Sunday May 19 – Hallenstadion Zurich, Switzerland
Tuesday May 21 – SAP Arena Mannheim, Germany
Wednesday May 22 – AccorHotels Arena Paris, France
Friday May 24 – Manchester Arena Manchester, UK
Saturday May 25 – Manchester Arena Manchester, UK
Monday May 27 – Birmingham Resorts World Arena Birmingham, UK
Tuesday May 28 – Birmingham Resorts World Arena Birmingham, UK
Thursday May 30 – 3Arena Dublin, Ireland
Friday May 31 – 3Arena Dublin, Ireland
Sunday June 2 – The O2 Arena London, UK
Monday June 3 – The O2 Arena London, UK
Tuesday June 4 – The O2 Arena London, UK
Wednesday June 5 – The O2 Arena London, UK
Thursday June 6 – The O2 Arena London, UK