Hurts reveal Fleetwood Mac, Steely Dan and Motown influences behind ‘surprising’ new album

Duo release third record 'Surrender' in October

Hurts have discussed the inspiration behind their upcoming new album.

The electronic pop pair – consisting of Theo Hutchcraft and Adam Anderson – release their third record ‘Surrender’ on October 9. Speaking in this week’s issue of NME, available digitally and on newsstands now, Hutchcraft cited Fleetwood Mac, Steely Dan and the “backing singers and gospel choirs” of Motown as key influences on the LP, claiming that the record will “delight and surprise people in equal measure”.

SEE MORE: NME Review Of Hurts second album ‘Exile’


With the duo’s first two albums recorded in Manchester, Hurts recorded this third effort between different sessions in Ibiza, Los Angeles, New York and the Swiss Alps. Hutchcraft says that the sunnier climes had an effect on the music created.

“It was quite a dark time making the last record [2013’s ‘Exile’] and the content was quite reflective of our state, but once we’d finished it and exorcised the demons our mood shifted quite a lot,” he said. “This time we decided to see how things would turn out if we enjoyed ourselves and went to some exciting places. It made us look outwards for the first time in a long time. The second record was very internal and very intense so we craved the opposite. Now, at this stage in our lives, to make a record that would sound as dark as the second or as melancholy as the first wouldn’t be a true reflection of us. That’s not to say it’s all a barrel of laughs though; we’re still drawn to the darker side.”

Hutchcraft added: “‘Exile’ was a record we had to make and this one is reactionary in a way, but fundamentally we’re a pop band and we make pop records. This is an album made in great places, with big blue skies. We just wanted to present a potent version of the band that we are”.

Hurts unveiled their new single ‘Some Kind Of Heaven’ last month (May 28), describing it as “the beginning of a bold odyssey”.

‘Surrender’ will follow on from their 2013 album ‘Exile’ and 2010 debut ‘Happiness’. The album was produced by Stuart Price (Madonna, The Killers) and Ariel Rechtshaid (Haim, Vampire Weekend).

The ‘Surrender’ tracklisting is as follows:


‘Some Kind of Heaven’
‘Nothing Will Be Bigger Than Us’
‘Rolling Stone’


Cast your vote for the NME Awards 2020 now

Vote for your top choices of Hero, Villain and Music Moment of the Year