The singer follows in the footsteps of Morrissey by selecting the songs that have inspired him...

Ian Brown is following in Morrissey‘s footsteps by releasing an ‘UNDER THE INFLUENCE’ compilation.

Out on September 8, the album draws on a wide range of musical styles and artists, from The Sex Pistols to The Isley Brothers and Burning Spear.

The album will be available on CD and vinyl, and the next few months will see the release of compilations from Beautiful South and Clash‘s Paul Heaton.


The tracklisting is:

Gza/Genius ‘Liquid Swords’

Brand Nubian ‘Meaning of the 5%’

Burning Spear ‘Man In The Hills’

Junior Byles ‘Fade Away’

Buju Banton ‘Complaint’


[a][/a] ‘(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais’

Papa Levi ‘Mi God Mi King’

Sizzla ‘No Other Like Jah’

Cymande ‘Fug’

Edwin Starr ‘T.I.M.E’

Isley Brothers ‘Take Some Time Out For Love’

Osiris ‘War On The Bullshit’

Larry Williams ‘Too Late’

Bobby Womack ‘Across 110th St’

Sex Pistols ‘I Wanna Be Me’

Dorothy Love Coates ’99 1/2′


Terry Gilliam: “We’re doomed – what is going on with the world?”

The brain behind some of cinema's craziest epics talks climate change, Adolf Hitler, Brexit Britain – and getting his big break with Terry Jones

Courteeners’ Liam Fray: “The band is my life. When it’s not going great, my life’s not going great”

Fray on the road through darkness that led to new album 'More. Again. Forever.'

Savages’s Jehnny Beth tells us how David Bowie and ‘Peaky Blinders’ shaped her wild solo album

"In my core I felt that there was something that I hadn’t done yet – and that was this record"