Ian Brown debuts ‘Ripples’, the title track from his new solo album

"It's not for glory, nor for riches"

Ian Brown has released ‘Ripples’ from his forthcoming solo album.

The new single appears on Brown’s first solo album in nine years, opening with a distinctive guitar solo before Brown’s recognisable vocals kick in once more.

“It’s not for glory, nor for riches”, the Stone Roses icon drawls as the track opens.


The new offering follows ‘From Chaos To Harmony’, the preceding single which arrived earlier this month.

Brown releases his new record, of which he’s written the majority of songs for, on Febraury 1. Three of the songs were co-written with his sons while one of the tracks, ‘Black Roses’, is a Barrington Levy cover.

Check out the full tracklist for the album below:

‘First World Problems’
‘Black Roses’
‘Breathe and Breathe Easy (The Everness Of Now)’
‘The Dream And The Dreamer’
‘From Chaos To Harmony’
‘It’s Raining Diamonds’
‘Blue Sky Day’
‘Soul Satisfaction’
‘Break Down The Walls (Warm Up Jam)’

In 2017, it was reported that Brown had started workingon the album after The Stone Roses’ reunion came to an abrupt end.


Fans had initially hoped that the band would release a comeback record after sharing the singles ‘All For One’ and ‘Beautiful Thing’ in 2016. The last Roses album was 1994’s ‘Second Coming’.

However, it still hasn’t stopped bookies from chancing their odds of headlining Glastonbury next year.