Roddy Woomble and his Scots compatriots buff up new material...

Idlewild will release their second album ‘100 BROKEN WINDOWS’ in April through Food/Parlophone Records.

The follow-up to their 1998 debut ‘Hope Is Important’ will be preceded by a new single which will be called either ‘Darkness’ or ‘Shed A Shade Of Shyness’, a phrase that makes up the song’s chorus.

Tracks slated for inclusion on the new album include ‘Listen To What You’ve Got’, ‘Rose Ability’, ‘Centrefield’, ‘Mistake Paegant’, ‘Idea Track’, and ‘Failed Blake’.

The new material’s been described as “more REM-influenced” by a source close to the band – a direction hinted at with the band’s last single ‘Little Discourage’, released last September.

Idlewild have recorded the new material in different studios in Lincolnshire, Scotland and Chicago, where they worked with BOB WESTON, bassist from STEVE ALBINI’S band Shellac. DAVE ERINGA, who produced ‘Little Discourage’ has also worked on the new album.

The band plan to tour the country in March/April around the time of the album release and will feature a new, second guitarist, JEREMY MILLS from PEEPS INTO FAIRYLAND on these dates. Mills is only joining Idlewild on the live dates and will continue to play in Peeps Into Fairyland.