Iggy and The Stooges finish recording new album

'Ready To Die' is the band's first studio effort since 2007's 'The Weirdness'

Iggy And The Stooges have finished recording their new album, ‘Ready To Die’.

Hitfix writes that the seminal proto-punk act’s first album in six years has been mixed by Ed Cherney, who said of the follow-up to 2007’s ‘The Weirdness’:

It’s old-time Stooges. It’s raw. They’re great songs, but not necessarily big choruses. They’re the Antichrist of anthems.

He added that the lyrics are ‘very timely’, saying of Iggy Pop: “He knows what he wants to say. He’s watching the world around him.”


The album features the tracks ‘I Got A Job But It Don’t Pay Shit’ and ‘Gun’. It was produced by the band’s guitar player James Williamson at Fantasy Studios in San Francisco, though Iggy Pop recorded his vocals in Miami.

It marks the first Stooges album Williamson has played on since 1973’s ‘Raw Power’, after rejoining the band following Ron Asheton’s death in 2009.

Last year Iggy Pop released a solo covers album, which featured renditions of tracks by the likes of Frank Sinatra, The Beatles and Edith Piaf.

The album followed his 2009 effort ‘PrĂ©liminaires’.

Iggy Pop also features on the forthcoming pirate themed compilation album, ‘Son of Rogue’s Gallery: Pirate Ballads, Sea Songs and Chanteys’.

The new, 36 track double CD will be released on February 18 on the Anti- label and features Iggy singing ‘Asshole Rules the Navy’ alongside A Hawk and a Hacksaw.


Tom Waits, Keith Richards, Patti Smith and Johnny Depp, Beth Orton, Shane MacGowan, Michael Stipe and Courtney Love, Dr John, Marianne Faithfull and Broken Social Scene also feature on the release.