Iggy Pop and Josh Homme bonded over ‘sex lives, furniture and German trivia’ making new album

New record 'Post Pop Depression' will be released in March

Iggy Pop has gone into detail about working with Queens Of The Stone Age frontman Josh Homme on his forthcoming new record, ‘Post Pop Depression’.

The new album is scheduled for release on March 18 and was recorded in secret last year. Pop’s band for the album was made up of Homme (who also produced the album), Arctic Monkeys‘ drummer Matt Helders and Homme’s Queens of the Stone Age colleague Dean Fertita.

The first track from the album ‘Gardenia’ was launched late last week, while the new set up also made their live debut on Colbert. This week, Pop and co revealed the song ‘Break Into Your Heart’.


Speaking to NME‘s Matt Wilkinson for his Beats 1 radio show, Pop explained how the collaboration came about: “I texted [Homme] and said ‘I thought we could maybe write something and record it’. That was it. He didn’t have my number and it had been years since I met him… but he texted back favourably and we sort of started bouncing.”


“About half way through, we had a conversation about what we wanted to do. We didn’t want to take anyone’s money, we didn’t want a record [label] person up our ass – we were willing to use our own funds.”

Pop also stated that the pair bonded over shared interests of “sex lives, furniture and German trivia” and that playing live together “sounded bloody good”.

Listen to clips from the Beats 1 interview below. It will air in full on Saturday (January 30).


Speaking previously to The New York Times, Pop said the album’s theme is informed by his advancing years and asks “What happens after your years of service? And where is the honor?”

He continued: “In American life, because it’s so hypercompetitive, what happens when you’re finally useless to everyone except hopefully not yourself? What happens then? And can you continue to be of use to yourself? I had a kind of character in mind. It was sort of a cross between myself and a military veteran.”

The track list for ‘Post Pop Depression’ is as follows:

‘Break Into Your Heart’
‘American Valhalla’
‘In the Lobby’
‘German Days’
‘Chocolate Drops’