Iggy Pop unveils second ‘Post Pop Depression’ track ‘Break Into Your Heart’ – listen

Josh Homme and Matt Helders feature on new record, due in March...

Iggy Pop has revealed a second track from his forthcoming album ‘Post Pop Depression’, entitled ‘Break Into You Heart’.

The new album, which is scheduled for release on March 18, was recorded in secret last year, with Iggy Pop’s band made up of Josh Homme (Queens Of The Stone Age, who also produced the album), Arctic Monkeys‘ drummer Matt Helders and Homme’s Queens of the Stone Age colleague Dean Fertita.

The first track from the album ‘Gardenia’ was launched late last week, while the new set up also made their live debut on Colbert.

The latest track was premiered by Zane Lowe on Beats 1 earlier today (January 25).

Listen to ‘Break Into Your Heart’ via YouTube, below:

Speaking to the New York Times, Pop said the album’s theme is informed by his advancing years and asks “What happens after your years of service? And where is the honor?”

He continued: “In American life, because it’s so hypercompetitive, what happens when you’re finally useless to everyone except hopefully not yourself? What happens then? And can you continue to be of use to yourself? I had a kind of character in mind. It was sort of a cross between myself and a military veteran.”

The track list for Post Pop Depression is as follows:

‘Break Into Your Heart’
‘American Valhalla’
‘In the Lobby’
‘German Days’
‘Chocolate Drops’