Josh Homme and Iggy Pop record secret album with Arctic Monkeys’ Matt Helders

'Post Pop Depression' will be released in March

Iggy Pop and Josh Homme have recorded an album together alongside Arctic Monkeys‘ Matt Helders. ‘Post Pop Depression’ will be released in March.

The album was recorded in secrecy between Homme’s two studios: two weeks in Joshua Tree, and a further seven days at Pink Duck in Los Angeles.

Speaking to the New York Times, Pop said the album’s theme is informed by his advancing years and asks “What happens after your years of service? And where is the honor?”


He continued: “In American life, because it’s so hypercompetitive, what happens when you’re finally useless to everyone except hopefully not yourself? What happens then? And can you continue to be of use to yourself? I had a kind of character in mind. It was sort of a cross between myself and a military veteran.”


Meanwhile, Josh Homme admitted that working on ‘Post Pop Depression’ helped him deal with the shock of his friends in Eagles of Death Metal being caught up in the Paris attacks last year. “The fact that I had this to work on, it saved me,” he said.

Although the album was self-financed, Homme always intended to make something fans will enjoy. “It was made to be heard — not to be some quirky thing that we did with our own money” he said. “This was to go where neither of us had gone before. That was the agreement. And to go all the way.”

Homme’s Queens Of The Stone Age bandmate Dean Fertita plays guitars and keyboards on the record while Matt Helders of Monkeys is on drums. They will also play live with the band, as will Troy Van Leeuwen from Queens of the Stone Age, on guitar, and Matt Sweeney, from Chavez. The band plan to tour around the album release in March.